Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: East Somerton

William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883

SOMERTON (EAST), 8 miles N. by W. of Yarmouth, is a small but picturesque hamlet and parish, now united with Winterton, its own CHURCH (St. Mary) having long been an ivy-mantled ruin. It is in Flegg union, West Flegg hundred, East and West Flegg petty sessional division, Yarmouth county court district and bankruptcy district, Ormesby polling district of North Norfolk, Flegg rural deanery, and Norwich archdeaconry.

It had only 47 inhabitants in 1881, and comprises about 798 acres of land, all belonging to Frederick Charsley, Esq., of Slough, Bucks, who purchased it of Captain Bird in 1880. The rateable value is £1373, and the gross estimated rental £1421 10s. Burnley Hall, now occupied by Mr. J.A. Mottram, was built about the beginning of the 18th century by J. Husband, Esq., and its beautiful lawn, gardens, walks, and plantations, were much improved by the late J.B. Huntington, Esq.

POST from Yarmouth, viâ Hemsby.

	Charsley  Fdk.             ld. owner; h Slough, Bucks
	Charsley  Fdk. Wm.         farmer, Manor fm.
	Mottram   Mr Jas. Alfred   Burnley hall
	Starling  James            gamekeeper
	Varley    Benjamin         blacksmith
	Varley    James            gamekeeper

See also the East Somerton parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
October 2004