Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: East Somerton

William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845

SOMERTON (EAST,) 8 miles N. by W. of Yarmouth, is a small, but picturesque hamlet and parish, now united with Winterton, its own Church (St. Mary,) having long been an ivy-mantled ruin. It comprises only 61 inhabitants, and about 800 acres of land, all belonging to that distinguished statesman, Joseph Hume, Esq., M.P., who purchased it in 1824.

Somerton House, now unoccupied, was built about the beginning of the 18th century, by J. Husband, Esq.; and its beautiful lawn, gardens, walks, and plantations, were much improved by the late J.B. Huntington, Esq.

Directory:

	Womack   Mr. Wm.
	Womack   Arthur Lindoe  farmer
	Rogers   Lawrence       farmer
	Varley   Robt.          blacksmith

See also the East Somerton parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
October 2004