KESWICK, near the Railway and on the Yare, 3 miles S.S.W. of Norwich, is a parish in Henstead union, Humbleyard hundred, Swainsthorpe petty sessional division, Norwich county court district and bankruptcy district, Norwich polling district of South Norfolk, Humbleyard rural deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry. It had 148 inhabitants in 1881, living on 729 acres, and has a rateable value of £1744 15s.
All the parish is the property of John Henry Gurney, Esq.,of North Repps, the lord of the manor. The New Hall, a handsome white brick building with pleasant grounds, is occupied by Francis H. Gurney, Esq. Robert Leeds, Esq., occupies the Old Hall, which is a spacious brick mansion. Nearly the whole parish is farmed by Mr. John William Reynolds.
The CHURCH (All Saints) was dismantled about the end of the 16th century, and nothing remains but a lofty Norman round tower and portion of the ancient chancel, which form a picturesque ruin, situated in a plantation on an eminence near the New Buckenham road. Its rectory, valued in the King's Book at £5, was at the same period consolidated with that of Intwood. The tithes of this parish have been commuted for about £228 a year.
The children attend the Board School at Cringleford.
POST OFFICE at Mr. John Beezer's. Letters despatched at 6 p.m., viâ Norwich, which is nearest Telegraph Office, but Eaton is the nearest Money Order Office.
Annes Thomas head gardener Burdett William farm bailiff Fiddy Robert William corn miller Gurney Francis Hay, Esq., J.P. New Hall Leeds Mr Robert Old hall Reynolds John William farmer; and Spixworth and St. Faith's
Copyright © Pat Newby.