FLITCHAM is an ancient village, lying in a picturesque valley, north of Hillington Park, 9 miles N.E. of Lynn, and including within its parish several dispersed farm-houses, 428 inhabitants, and 4,108 acres of fertile land, including about 20 souls, and 700 acres in Appleton, which is united with it for the support of the poor, as has been seen at page 585 [which is the entry for Appleton].
The Earl of Leicester is lord of the manor, owner of the soil, and patron of the CHURCH, (Virgin Mary,) which is a curacy, certified at £20, but augmented from 1780 to 1812, with £800 of Queen Anne's Bounty, and valued in 1831 at £54. The Rev. Wm. Leach, M.A., of Dersingham, is the incumbent.
In the outbuildings of a farm-house are some remains of Flitcham Priory, founded in the reign of Henry III., by Sir Robert Aguillon, for Augustine canons, subject to the Prior of Walsingham, and valued, at the dissolution, at £62 10s. 6½d. per annum. On the hill above the village, is a remarkable tumulus, called Flitcham Burgh, where the Hundred Court was anciently held.
Billing Thomas wheelwright Bridges Henry blacksmith and vict., Bell Burrell Henry butcher Cook James parish clerk Green James shoemaker Lambert J. shopkeeper Rippingall Martin vict., New Inn farmers. Burrell William Brereton George Middleton Wm. and John
Copyright © Pat Newby.