Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: Bylaugh

William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883

BYLAUGH is a picturesque parish, on the north bank of the Wensum, 6 miles N.E. of East Dereham, in Mitford and Launditch union, East Dereham county court district, Norwich bankruptcy district, Eynesford hundred, and petty sessional division, Reepham polling district of North Norfolk, Sparham rural deanery, and Norwich archdeaconry. It had 105 inhabitants in 1881, living on 1546 acres, and has a rateable value of 1165. The parish is mostly in two farms, belonging to the Rev. Henry Evans Lombe, who is lord of the manor, impropriator of the tithes, and patron of the living.

The CHURCH (Virgin Mary) is a small building, having a round tower with hexagonal belfry, and was thoroughly repaired in 1810, when the chancel was rebuilt, and transepts were added by the late Sir John Lombe. It contains monuments of the Corbet, Bendysh, and Lombe families.

The living is a perpetual curacy, valued at 75, and augmented in 1771-72, with 200 of Queen Anne's Bounty, and 200 given by the Dowager Countess Gower. With this 400 53 acres of land were purchased. The Rev. L.A. Norgate, B.A., of Foxley, is the incumbent. The tithes have been commuted for 208 a year, of which only 12 are paid to the perpetual curate.

POST from Dereham.

	Fenn      Albert         gardener
	Gretton   William        gamekeeper
	Limmer    Edward         farm steward
	Lombe     Rev. Henry
	            Evans, J.P.  Bylaugh park
	Sayer     John           farmer

See also the Bylaugh parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright Pat Newby.
April 2001