William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883
BYLAUGH is a picturesque parish, on the north bank of the Wensum, 6 miles
N.E. of East Dereham, in Mitford and Launditch union, East Dereham county
court district, Norwich bankruptcy district, Eynesford hundred, and
petty sessional division, Reepham polling district of North Norfolk,
Sparham rural deanery, and Norwich archdeaconry. It had 105 inhabitants
in 1881, living on 1546 acres, and has a rateable value of £1165. The
parish is mostly in two farms, belonging to the Rev. Henry Evans Lombe,
who is lord of the manor, impropriator of the tithes, and patron of the
The CHURCH (Virgin Mary) is a small building, having a round tower with
hexagonal belfry, and was thoroughly repaired in 1810, when the chancel
was rebuilt, and transepts were added by the late Sir John Lombe. It
contains monuments of the Corbet, Bendysh, and Lombe families.
The living is a perpetual curacy, valued at £75, and augmented in
1771-72, with £200 of Queen Anne's Bounty, and £200 given by the Dowager
Countess Gower. With this £400 53 acres of land were purchased. The Rev.
L.A. Norgate, B.A., of Foxley, is the incumbent. The tithes have been
commuted for £208 a year, of which only £12 are paid to the perpetual
POST from Dereham.
Fenn Albert gardener
Gretton William gamekeeper
Limmer Edward farm steward
Lombe Rev. Henry
Evans, J.P. Bylaugh park
Sayer John farmer
See also the Bylaugh parish page.
These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and
the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web
pages. Please see the
Copyright © Pat Newby.