William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845
BYLAUGH, or Belaugh, is a picturesque parish, on the north bank of
the Wensum, 5 miles N.E. of East Dereham, containing only 85 souls and
1544A. 2R. 19P. of land, mostly in two farms, belonging to Edward Lombe,
Esq., lord of the manor, impropriator, and patron of the Church
(Virgin Mary,) which was thoroughly repaired in 1810, when the chancel
was rebuilt and transepts added by the late Sir John Lombe.
The living is a perpetual curacy, valued in 1831 at £82, and
augmented in 1771-'2, with £200 of Queen Anne's Bounty, and £200 given
by the Dowager Countess Gower. With this £400, 53A. of land was purchased.
The Rev. Henry Evans is the incumbent, for whom the Rev. L.A. Norgate,
of Foxley, officiates.
The two farms are occupied by Stephen Warnes and Joseph Taylor.
On the north side of the parish is a large plantation, &c., forming
part of the Earl of Leicester's estate of Beck Hall. (See
See also the Bylaugh parish page.
These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and
the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web
pages. Please see the
Copyright © Pat Newby.