Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: Burston

William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1883

[Transcription copyright © Pat Newby]

BURSTON, 3 miles N.N.E. of Diss, on the Great Eastern Railway, is in Depwade union, Diss county court district, Ipswich bankruptcy district, Diss hundred, petty sessional division and polling district of South Norfolk, Redenhall rural deanery, and Norfolk archdeaconry. It had 406 inhabitants in 1881, living on 1405 acres; the rateable value is £2321 10s.

The soil belongs principally to Doughty's Hospital, Norwich, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, Mr. Charles Scales, Sir Kenneth Hagar Kemp, Bart., Sir A.K. Lake, Bart., Miss F. Tacon, and the Rev. F.G. Gill, M.A. The parish is in the following manors (fines arbitrary), viz., - Murch, Esq.'s manors of Brockdish and Mildim Hall; the Earl of Albemarle's manor of Winfarthing; and Heywood Hall, belonging to the trustees of the late Charles Layton, Esq.

The CHURCH (Virgin Mary) is a small fabric, comprising nave and chancel, with a small wooden turret containing one bell. The windows are very large, and are fine specimens of the Perpendicular style. The round tower fell down in 1757, when the peal of bells which it contained was sold to the neighbouring parish of Tibbenham. The remains of the door and steps leading to the rood loft may still be seen.

The rectory, valued in the King's Book at £16, is in the patronage of the Lord Chancellor, and incumbency of the Rev. Henry Temple Frere, M.A., J.P., who has a good residence, which was enlarged in 1862. The glebe is 60A., and the tithes have been commuted for £495 per annum.

The School Board was formed in 1875, and consists of the Rev. Henry Temple Frere, M.A., J.P. (chairman), the Rev. J.W. Millard, M.A., and Messrs. Henry Green, The Hall, William Eaton Carter, and James Self. Mr. Robert Borrett is clerk to the Board. A mixed school, to accommodate 87 scholars, with master's house attached, was erected in 1876, at a cost of about £800. Shimpling is included in this Board. The Board School was opened in 1876, and is attended by 87 children. Attached is a furnished residence for master.

Here is a small Primitive Methodist Chapel. The poor have 10s. a year from Chapman's charity, and the Town Pightle, value £1 10s.

POST OFFICE at Mr. Eldred Burrows's. Letters arrive at 7.15 a.m. from Diss, and despatched at 6 p.m. Sundays no arrival or departure. Diss is the nearest Money Order and Postal Telegraph Office, but there is a forwarding Telegraph Office only at Burston Railway station.

	Arnwell    William            cottager
	Abon       Frederick          farmer, assessor, and collector
	                                of taxes, Bridge farm
	Baxter     James              farmer, Culptis farm
	Bell       Jas.               farmer, overseer, poor's rate collector,
	                                and surveyor of highways
	Boulton    William            farmer, shopkeeper, and parish clerk
	Burrows    Eldred             post messenger to Burston and Gissing
	                                from Diss post office
	Carter     William Eaton      farmer
	Colchester John Wilson        farmer
	Cooper     William            shopkeeper
	Cross      John               miller
	Dixon      Zachariah          farmer, Doughty's Hospital farm
	Fisher     Charles            farmer
	Ford       Robert             carpenter
	Frere      Rev. Henry Temple,
	             M.A., J.P.       Rectory
	Gill       Rev. Frederick
	             Garner, M.A.
	Hammond    George             farmer
	Inkson     Thos. Harborrow    stationmastr
	Ling       Jabez              farmer
	Ling       William            bootmaker
	Ling       Zephaniah          blacksmith
	Middleton  John               carpenter and beerhs
	Mullinger  Robt.              farmer, Burston hall
	Porcher    Jno. Thos.         carpenter & whlwrt
	Prentice   Richard            cowkeeper
	Robinson   (Edward & Samuel)  millers, merchants & colliery
	  Bros.                         agents, near Railway Station, and
	                                at New Corn Exchange, Mark lane
	Sandy      John               builder
	Scales     Charles            farmer and landowner, Manor house
	Seaborn    William            victualler, Crown Inn
	Self       Frederick          farmer
	Self       James              farmer
	Sheppard   Jno. Robt.         Board schlmaster
	Smith      William            coal depôt, railway station;
	                                h Dickleburgh

RAILWAY STATION and forwarding telegraph office only; Thomas Harborrow Inkson, stationmaster

See also the Burston parish page.

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Pat Newby.
November 2005