BRECKLES, or Breccles, is a small village and parish, 5 miles S. by E. of Watton, has 130 inhabitants, and 1860 acres of land, belonging to Sir Edw. C. Kerrison, Bart., the lord of the manor and patron of the discharged vicarage, which was valued in the King's Book at £7. 7s. 11d., and is now worth £45 a year, having been augmented from 1767 to 1824 with £1000 of Queen Anne's Bounty. The Rev. William Smyth Thorpe, of Shropham, is the vicar.
The Church (St. Margaret) is a neat fabric in the early-English style, comprising nave, south porch, chancel, and round tower with octagonal belfry and two bells. It was thoroughly restored in 1862 at the expense of the patron, and is furnished with handsome open benches with poppy heads, and carved pulpit and reading desk, all of oak. The ancient rood screen still remains.
The School was built in 1854 by the lord of the manor, and is attended by 20 children.
The Hall, now a farm house, is an ancient brick building with a good archway in front. It contains several large and lofty rooms, some of which are lined with tapestry and carved oak panelling.
In 1806, John Stubbings died in this parish, in his 108th year.
The farmers are -
Garrard John Howes Eliz. Lodge Mayhew John Grange Oldfield Robert Hall
POST from Thetford.
Copyright © Pat Newby.