At the entrance to a picturesque dale, are the ruins of Beeston Priory, (St. Mary,) founded in the reign of John, by Lady Margery de Cressey, for Austin canons, and granted at the dissolution to Sir E. Windham and others. It was then valued at £43. 2s. 4d.
The rent of 12A. 11R. 1P. of land, at Hindolveston, (£14,) purchased with £100, left by Edmund Hooke, in 1715, is divided, two-thirds among the poor of Beeston, and one-third among the poor of Runton. The former have the rent of 6A., let for £5. 17s.; and here is a cottage, the rent of which is applied with the church rates.
Cremer Rev. C. Hall Clarke Thomas joiner Cooper John Abbey farm Ward Joseph yeoman Wiseman Samuel blacksmith
See also the Beeston Regis parish page.
Copyright © Pat Newby.