ASHWICKEN, a small parish with only 78 inhabitants, and about 1,200 acres of land, lies 4½ miles E. of Lynn, in the picturesque vale of a rivulet which flows westward to that port. J.W. Ladbroke, Esq., owns the Hall and about 500 acres; and the rest belongs to Richard Dewing, Esq., who occupies the Hall, a large brick mansion, with a well wooded lawn, and formerly surrounded by a moat, now filled up. Upwards of 100 acres of sandy heath, at the west end of the parish, being unfit for cultivation, was planted about twelve years ago, by Mr. Dewing, who has nearly the whole parish in his own occupation.
The CHURCH, dedicated to All Saints, occupies a lofty situation in a large meadow, overlooking the valley, and was formerly a much larger edifice. The living is a rectory, valued in the King's Book at £6 13s. 4d., and consolidated with Leziate, a churchless parish on the opposite side of the turnpike. The joint benefices were valued in 1831 at £450. The Rev. John Freeman, M.A., is patron and incumbent; and has a neat Rectory House, built in 1843. The glebe is 13A., and the tithes have recently been commuted for £520 per annum.
Thomas Greaves is the parish clerk, and here is a house occupied by Mrs. Oakes.
Copyright © Pat Newby.