Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: Poor Law

Norwich Incorporation (to 1863)

& Norwich Union (from 1863)

Incorporation history

Union history

Norwich Incorporation (and later Union)

consisted of the following:-
All Saints
Earlham St. Mary
Eaton St. Andrew
Hellesdon (Hamlet of
  -rest in St. Faiths Union)
St. Andrew
St. Augustine
St. Benedict
St. Clement
St. Edmund
St. Etheldred
St. George Colegate
St. George Tombland
St. Giles
St. Gregory
St. Helen
St. James
St. John Maddermarket
St. John Sepulchre
St. John Timberhill
St. Julian
St. Lawrence
St. Margaret
St. Martin-at-Oak
St. Martin-at-Palace
St. Mary-at-Coslany
St. Mary-in-the-Marsh (from 1863)
St. Michael-at-Coslany
St. Michael-at-Plea
St. Michael-at-Thorne
St. Paul
St. Peter Hungate
St. Peter Mancroft
St. Peter-per-Mountergate
St. Peter Southgate
St. Saviour
St. Simon & St. Jude
St. Stephen
St. Swithin
Thorpe (hamlet)
Town Close
Trowse Millgate
Carrow & Bracondale

Poor Law Records - Images

Online images of some poor law registers, admissions books etc. from 1796 to 1900 are available at the

  1. Go down the "Historical Record Collections"
  2. Select Title - "England, Norfolk Poor Law Union Records, 1796-1900"
  3. Select "Browse through xxx images"
  4. Under County pick - "Norfolk"
  5. Under Poor Law Union select the "Required Union"
  6. Records are under headings such as "District, Workhouse & Unknown etc."

Other Websites

Acts, descriptions, maps, some pictures etc. can be found at :-
       (The Story of Workhouses).


Pound, Dr John F.
Norwich Census of the Poor 1570
Norfolk Record Society, Vol XL
[ISBN: 0-95013-701-4: Norwich, 1971]

Further information can be found:

See also the Poor Law page and the Post 1834 Unions page

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
June 2016