Genuki Logo Norfolk Welcome   Contents and Search

Norfolk: Poor Law after 1834 Act

Guiltcross Union

Union history

Before 1834 some of these parishes had their own Work or Parish House (WkHse) as shown.

Guiltcross Union
Pre 1834
Parish Work House
Post 1902
Banham (E) WkHse Wayland
Blo' Norton (W) Thetford
Bressingham (E) WkHse Depwade
Bridgham (W) Thetford
Buckenham, New
  (New Buckenham) (E)
WkHse Wayland
Buckenham, Old
  (Old Buckenham) (E)
WkHse Wayland
Eccles (W) Wayland
Fersfield (E) Depwade
Garboldisham (W) WkHse Thetford
Gasthorpe (W) Thetford
Harling, East
  (East Harling) (W)
WkHse Thetford
Harling, West
  (West Harling) (W)
Kenninghall (W) WkHse Wayland
Lopham, North
  (North Lopham) (W)
WkHse Thetford
Lopham, South
  (South Lopham) (W)
WkHse Thetford
Quidenham (W) Wayland
Riddlesworth (W) Thetford
Roydon (near Diss) (E) Depwade
Shelfanger (E) WkHse Depwade
Wilby (W) Wayland
Winfarthing (E) WkHse Depwade

(E) = Eastern Division, (W) = Western Division

Poor Law Records - Images

Online images of some poor law registers, admissions books etc. from 1796 to 1900 are available at the

  1. Go down the "Historical Record Collections"
  2. Select Title - "England, Norfolk Poor Law Union Records, 1796-1900"
  3. Select "Browse through xxx images"
  4. Under County pick - "Norfolk"
  5. Under Poor Law Union select the "Required Union"
  6. Records are under headings such as "District, Workhouse & Unknown etc."

Other Websites

Acts, descriptions, maps, some pictures etc. can be found at :-
       (The Story of Workhouses).

Further information can be found:

See also the Poor Law page and the Post 1834 Unions page

These pages are for personal use only. They may not be copied, and the links within them may not be harvested for use on your own web pages. Please see the Copyright Notice.

Copyright © Mike Bristow.
March 2015